Opening hours:
  • Everyday, all year : Lunch & Dinner
The Grenier of Notre Dame is the very first vegetarian and macrobiotic restaurant in Paris. It has had the same chef, Abib, since it opened in 1978, whilst Laurent presides over the restaurant with as much efficiency as gentilesse. Here, guests talk in low voices, chewing happily with fervour, and smiling at every new face. The bar, and the front window of the establishment, are weighed under by all the plants and exotic specimens with hidden vertues, that dangle down from the mezzanine above. Everyone squeezes in around the minute tables, on which each possesses it's own little tray containing four special ingredients: brewer's yeast, soya sauce, gomasio (sea salt and grilled sesame seeds), and raw cane sugar. Two choices of menu, of a good servings, are on offer, for 12.50€ to include a starter, main course and pudding, and recommended by a nutritionist. The first "Zen" is based on a macrobiotic diet, cereal based such as epeautre, or bulghur wheat, followed by a vegetable tahini, and fresh vegetables i season, very lightly salted, meaning that each of the ingredients retains it's full nutritional values, followed by a pudding of a blancmange made with agar agar(seaweed), or a fresh fruit compote. The menu "Discovery" is vegetarian based, and you have the choice between a fruit cocktail or fresh vegetable juice, made in front of you, or vegetable fritters, followed by a large dish of ratatouille, in season, and it's wheat gluten brochette, known as Seitan. You may alos choose a duo of fusilli pasta and tofu. If you prefer something lighter, the home made soup at 5.60€ is well worth the detour, and simply to die for.
Le Parisien – 04/01/2003 – Agnès Dalbard

Several special features of the Grenier of Notre Dame:

  • Fresh produce : the restaurant,works with the same local growers (for the pumpkins, root veg, endives, cabbages etc) since the opening in 1978. These are mainly family run businesses based in Northern France, near Lille, or in Normandy. 40% of the ingredients used are organic (Cola, Wine, Beer, Vegetables, and cereals,), except for the tropical fruit or vegetables, and come from equitable commerce.
  • The Story of the Restaurant : The restaurant and the savoir -faire of the owners, has been handed down through the different generations, from father to son, since it opened up in 1978. In 1988, Laurent Boiseau, the son, took over, from his father, before then handing over to his son, Antoine in 2008. The chef, Abib, is the same, to this day, since, 1978, and he now works in the new restaurant.

Photos

2013

2012

trip advisor

" Mangez juste "
  • 1er restaurant végétarien et macrobiotique de Paris depuis 1978
  • Le restaurant travaille avec les mêmes producteurs depuis l'ouverture
  • 80% des produits sont bio et certains sont issus du commerce équitable
 
Horaires d'ouverture :
  • Tous les jours, toute l'année : Midi et Soir
Premier restaurant végétarien et macrobiotique de Paris, Le Grenier de Notre-Dame a conservé depuis 1978 le même chef, Abib, tandis que Laurent officie en salle avec autant d’efficacité que de gentillesse. Ici, les convives chuchotent, mastiquent avec ferveur, et chacun sourit aux nouveaux venus. Bar et vitrine croulent sous les plantes vertes, des potos (plantes grasses aux vertus apaisantes) ruissellent de la mezzanine. Partout on se faufile entre les petites tables carrées. Toutes portent le plateau des quatre ingrédients obligés : levure de bière, sauce de soja, gomasio (sel et sésame) et sucre de canne. Deux formules copieuses à 12,50 €, entrée, plat, dessert, sont proposées par une diététicienne. Avec la première, dite « zen », vous mangez macrobiotique, c’est-à-dire avec une base de céréales comme l’épeutre ou le boulgour : d’abord un pâté végétal puis une assiette composée notamment de légumes de saison. Peu salé, chaque ingrédient a conservé sa saveur originelle. Au dessert, soit un flan à l’agar-agar (algue) ou une compote de fruits. Avec la formule « découverte », végétarienne, vous avez le choix en entrée entre un cocktail de fruits et légumes pressés devant vous, ou des beignets de légumes. Puis une grande assiette de ratatouille de saison et sa brochette de seitan (gluten de blé) ou un duo de pâtes fusilli au tofu. Hors formule, la soupe (5,6 €) se révèle un délice qui mérite le détour !
Le Parisien – 04/01/2003 – Agnès Dalbard

Quelques particularités du Grenier de Notre-Dame :

  • Produits : Le restaurant travaille avec les mêmes producteurs (pour les potirons, les racines, les andives, les choux...etc.) depuis l'ouverture en 1978. Ce sont pricipalement des petites entreprises familiales basées dans le Nord de la France (près de Lille) et en Normandie. 40% de la carte est renouvelée 2 fois par an. 80% des produits sont bio (Cola, Vin, Bières, Légumes, Céréales - sauf les produits exotiques) et issus du commerce équitable.
  • Historique : Le restaurant et le savoir-faire se transmet de père en fils depuis sa création par M. Daniel Boiseau en 1978. En 1988, M. Laurent Boiseau, son fils, reprend le restaurant pendant 20 ans avant de le transmettre à son tour à son fils Antoine en 2008. Le chef, Abib est le même depuis 1978 et travaille aujourd'hui dans le nouveau restaurant.

2013

2012

trip advisor